Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) and its predecessors: chart

				1997-					
	Department of Economic and Social Affairs*								
2012-			Wu Hongbo (China)		Press release SG/A/1347				
2007- 2012			Sha Zukang (China)		Press release SG/A/1043-BIO/3845				
2003-2007			Jose Antonio Ocampo (Colombia)		Press release SG/A/843-BIO/3500				
1997-2003			Nitin Desai (India) Press release SG/		/630				
	1993-1996			1993-1996			1993-1996		
Department for Policy Coordination			Department for Economic and Social			Department for Development Support			
and Sustainable Development			Information and Policy Analysis			and Management Services			
1993-1996	Nitin Desai	ST/SGB/258,	1993-1996	Jean-Claude	SG/A/516 [1993],	1996	Jin Yongjian	SG/A/627 [1997,	
		SG/A/516 [1992],		Milleron	SG/A/518-			SG/A/619 [1996]	
		SG/A/520-			BIO/2726-	1993-1995	Ji Chaozhu	ST/SGB/258,	
		BIO/2728-EC/2713			EC/2712 [1993],			SG/A/516 [1993],	
		[1992]			ST/SGB/258)			SG/A/517-BIO/2725-	
								EC/2711 [1993]	
				1992					
	Department of Economic and Social Development								
			1992	Ji Chaozhu	ST/SGB/249,				
					SG/A/479 [1992],				
	SG/A/482-BIO/2635-DEV/1915 [1992]								

1978-1992 Office for Development and International Economic Cooperation			1978-1992 Department of International Economic and Social Affairs			1978-1992 Department of Technical Cooperation for Development		
1989-1992	Antoine Blanca	SG/A/413- BIO/2387 [1989]	1987-1992	Rafeeuddin Ahmed	SG/A/372- BIO/2224 [1986]	1991-1992	Ji Chaozhu	SG/A/449-BIO/2538- DEV/1855 [1991]
						1985-1990	Xie Qimei	SG/A/339-BIO/2110 [1985]
1982-1989	Jean Louis Ripert	SG/A/267- BIO/1858 [1982]	1982-1986	Shuaib Uthman Yolah	SG/A/277- BIO/1882 [1982]	1979-1984	Bi Jilong	SG/A/223-BIO/1587 [1979]
1978-1982	K. K. S. Dadzie	SG/A/202- BIO/1477 [1978]	1978-1981	Jean Louis Ripert	SG/A/201- BIO/1455 [1978], BIO/1459 [1978]	1978	Issoufou Saidou Djermakoye	BIO/768 [1970]

1955-1977

Department of Economic and Social Affairs

1975-1977 Philippe de Seynes

1955-1974 Gabriel Van Laetham

1946-1954 Department of Economic Affairs	1946-1954 Department of Social Affairs			
1952-1954 Guillaume Georges-Picot	1951-1954 Guillaume Georges-Picot			
1946-1951 David K. Owen	1946-1950 Henri Laugier			

^{*:} Created through merger of the Department for Policy Coordination and Sustainable Development, Department for Economic and Social Information and Policy Analysis and Department for Development Support and Management Services (see: A/51/829 of 17 Mar. 1997).