Who are the Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly?
Last Updated: Sep 08, 2021     Views: 11746

Twenty-one Vice-Presidents are elected for each session of the General Assembly (rule 30 of Rules of procedure of the General Assembly).

The Vice-Presidents are elected according to a pattern that ensures equitable geographical representation. Details can be found in the annex to General Assembly resolution 33/138 of 19 December 1978; paragraph 4 has been updated by annex II of resolution 48/264 of 29 July 1994. 

Additional information about the election of the Vice-Presidents is contained in rules 30-37 of the Rules of procedure of the General Assembly.

A comprehensive list of Member States elected as Vice-Presidents from the first session of the General Assembly​ until the current one can be found in the Excel table linked below.

Sep 08, 2021     11746


Disclaimer: answers are prepared by library staff using resources available at the time of writing. This site may include links and references to third-party databases, websites, books and articles, this does not imply endorsement by the United Nations.


Ask Dag Logo

Explore more than 800 FAQs in: