Where can I find statements made by Ireland during the General Debate of the United Nations General Assembly?
Last Updated: Sep 25, 2019     Views: 948

Representatives of Ireland have delivered statements at the following General Debates of the General Assembly:

74th sess. [2019, 25 Sept.]: A/74/PV.6*: President Michael Higgins

73rd sess. [2018, 28 Sept.]: A/73/PV.13: Deputy Prime Minister Simon Coveney

72nd sess. [2017, 23 Sept.]: A/72/PV.20: Simon Coveney

71st sess. [2016, 24 Sept.]: A/71/PV.20: Charles Flanagan

70th sess. [2015, 1 Oct.]: A/70/PV.22: Charles Flanagan

69th sess. [2014]: A/69/PV.18: Charles Flanagan

68th sess. [2013]: A/68/PV.19: Deputy Prime Minister Eamon Gilmore

67th sess. [2012]: A/67/PV.16: Deputy Prime Minister Eamon Gilmore

66th sess. [2011]: A/66/PV.25: Deputy Prime Minister Eamon Gilmore

65th sess. [2010]: A/65/PV.20: Micheál Martin

2010, 21 Sept.: A/65/PV.6: Micheál Martin (High-level Plenary Meeting on the Millennium Development Goals)

64th sess. [2009]: A/64/PV.12: Peter Power

63rd sess. [2008]: A/63/PV.16: Micheál Martin

62nd sess. [2007]: A/62/PV.15: Dermot Ahern

61st sess. [2006]: A/61/PV.20: Dermot Ahern

60th sess. [2005]: A/60/PV.14*: Prime Minister Bertie Ahern

2005, 14 Sept.: A/60/PV.4*: Prime Minister Bertie Ahern

59th sess. [2004]: A/59/PV.8: Brian Cowen

58th sess. [2003, 25 Sept.]: A/58/PV.11*: Prime Minister Bertie Ahern

57th sess. [2002]: A/57/PV.5: Brian Cowen

56th sess. [2001]: A/56/PV.49: Brian Cowen

55th sess. [2000]: A/55/PV.14: Brian Cowen

2000, 6 Sept.: A/55/PV.3*: Prime Minister Bertie Ahern (United Nations Millennium Summit)

54th sess. [1999]: A/54/PV.15: David Andrews

53rd sess. [1998]: A/53/PV.12: David Andrews

52nd sess. [1997]: A/52/PV.12: Ray Burke

1997, 23 June: A/S-19/PV.2*: Prime Minister John Bruton

51st sess. [1996]: A/51/PV.6: Deputy Prime Minister Dick Spring (on behalf of the European Union)

1995, 22 Oct.: A/50/PV.36*: President Mary Robinson (Commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the United Nations)

50th sess. [1995]: A/50/PV.9: Dick Spring

49th sess. [1994]: A/49/PV.9: Dick Spring

48th sess. [1993]: A/48/PV.13: Dick Spring

47th sess. [1992]: A/47/PV.13: D. Andrews

46th sess. [1991]: A/46/PV.13: G. Collins 

45th sess. [1990]: A/45/PV.9: G. Collins

44th sess. [1989]: A/44/PV.13: G. Collins

43rd sess. [1988]: A/43/PV.11: B. Lenihan

1988, 2 June: A/S-15/PV.5*: Prime Minister Charles J. Haughey

42nd sess. [1987]: A/42/PV.13: B. Lenihan

41st sess. [1986]: A/41/PV.9: P. Barry

1985, 21 Oct.: A/40/PV.43*: Prime Minister Garret Fitzgerald (Commemoration of the 40th anniversary of the United Nations)

40th sess. [1985]: A/40/PV.13: P. Barry

39th sess. [1984]: A/39/PV.6: P. Barry

38th sess. [1983]: A/38/PV.15: P. Barry

37th sess. [1982]: A/37/PV.12: Gerard Collins

1982, 11 June: A/S-12/PV.8*: Prime Minister Charles J. Haughey

36th sess. [1981]: A/36/PV.20: James Dooge

35th sess. [1980]: A/35/PV.17: Brian Lenihan

34th sess. [1979]: A/34/PV.8: Michael O'Kennedy

33rd sess. [1978]: A/33/PV.13: Michael O'Kennedy

1978, 25 May: A/S-10/PV.4*: Prime Minister John M. Lynch

32nd sess. [1977]: A/32/PV.20: Michael O'Kennedy

31st sess. [1976]: A/31/PV.10: Garret Fitzgerald

30th sess. [1975]: A/PV.2364: Garret Fitzgerald

29th sess. [1974]: A/PV.2243: Garret Fitzgerald

28th sess. [1973]: A/PV.2125: Garret Fitzgerald1973, 9 Jan.: Prime Minister John M. Lynch [visit only]

27th sess. [1972]: A/PV.2060: Patrick Hillery

26th sess. [1971]: A/PV.1956: Patrick Hillery

1970, 22 Oct.: A/PV.1879*: Prime Minister John M. Lynch (Celebration of the 25th anniversary of the United Nations)

24th sess. [1969]: A/PV.1768: Patrick Hillery

22nd sess. [1967]: A/PV.1571: Frank Aiken

2st sess. [1966]: A/PV.1434: Frank Aiken

20th sess. [1965]: A/PV.1343: Frank Aiken

19th sess. [1964-1965]: A/PV.1295: Frank Aiken

1963, 17 Oct.: A/PV.1245*: Prime Minister Sean F. Lemass

18th sess. [1963]: A/PV.1226: Frank Aiken

17th sess. [1962]: A/PV.1142: Frank Aiken

15th sess. [1960]: A/PV.890: Frank Aiken

14th sess. [1959]: A/PV.805: Frank Aiken (A/PV.824: Frank Aiken)

1959, 21 Mar.: President Sean T. O'Kelly [visit only]

13th sess. [1958]: A/PV.751: Frank Aiken

12th sess. [1957]: A/PV.682: Frank Aiken

11th sess. [1956]: A/PV.603: Liam Cosgrave

1956, 24 Mar.: Prime Minister John A. Costello [visit only]

Note: An asterisk [*] indicates a statement made by a Head of State or Government or a dignitary. Symbols in parentheses indicates right of reply. Symbols where no session information is given indicates that the statement was delivered during a High Level Meeting.


Disclaimer: answers are prepared by library staff using resources available at the time of writing. This site may include links and references to third-party databases, websites, books and articles, this does not imply endorsement by the United Nations.


Ask Dag Logo

Explore more than 800 FAQs in: