Where can I find statements made by Nigeria during the General Debate of the United Nations General Assembly?
Last Updated: Sep 25, 2019     Views: 1909

Representatives of Nigeria have delivered statements at the following General Debates of the General Assembly:

74th sess. [2019, 24 Sept.]: A/74/PV.3*: President Muhammadu Buhari

73rd sess. [2018, 25 Sept.]: A/73/PV.6*: President Muhammadu Buhari

72nd sess. [2017, 19 Sept.]: A/72/PV.3*: President Muhammadu Buhari

71st sess. [2016, 20 Sept.]: A/71/PV.9*: President Muhammadu Buhari

2016, 19 Sept.: A/71/PV.4 A*: President Muhammadu Buhari (High-level Plenary Meeting on Addressing Large Movements of Refugees and Migrants)

70th sess. [2015, 28 Sept.]: A/70/PV.15*: President Muhammadu Buhari

69th sess. [2014, 24 Sept.]: A/69/PV.7*: President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan

68th sess. [2013, 24 Sept.]: A/68/PV.5*: President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan

67th sess. [2012, 25 Sept.]: A/67/PV.8*: President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan

2012, 24 Sept.: A/67/PV.3*: President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (High-level Meeting on the Rule of Law at the National and International Levels)

66th sess. [2011, 21 Sept.]: A/66/PV.11*: President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan

65th sess. [2010, 24 Sept.]: A/65/PV.14*: President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan

2010, 20 Sept.: A/65/PV.3: Christian Onyebuchi Chukwu (High-level Plenary Meeting on the Millennium Development Goals)

64th sess. [2009]: A/64/PV.12: Ojo Maduekwe

63rd sess. [2008]: A/63/PV.16: Ojo Maduekwe

62nd sess. [2007, 26 Sept.]: A/62/PV.7*: President Umaru Musa Yar'Adua

61st sess. [2006]: A/61/PV.18: U. Joy Ogwu

60th sess. [2005, 16 Sept.]: A/60/PV.9*: President Olusegun Obasanjo

2005, 14 Sept.: A/60/PV.4*: President Olusegun Obasanjo

59th sess. [2004, 23 Sept.]: A/59/PV.7*: President Olusegun Obasanjo

58th sess. [2003, 23 Sept.]: A/58/PV.8*: President Olusegun Obasanjo

2003, 22 Sept.: A/58/PV.3*: President Olusegun Obasanjo

2002, 16 Sept.: A/57/PV.10*: President Olusegun Obasanjo

57th sess. [2002, 15 Sept.]: A/57/PV.8*: Preisdent Olusegun Obasanjo

56th sess. [2001]: A/56/PV.54: Alhaji Sule Lamido

2001, 25 June: A/S-26/PV.1*: President Olusegun Obasanjo

55th sess. [2000]: A/55/PV.22: Alhaji Sule Lamido

2000, 8 Sept.: A/55/PV.7*: President Olusegun Obasanjo (United Nations Millennium Summit)

2000, 29 June: A/S-24/PV.7*: President Olusegun Obasanjo

54th sess. [1999, 23 Sept.]: A/54/PV.10*: President Olusegun Obasanjo (A/54/PV.22: Mr. Akinsanya)

53rd sess. [1998, 24 Sept.]: A/53/PV.14*: Presidemt Abdulsalami Abubakar

1998, 9 June: A/S-20/PV.6: Alhaji Ibrahim

52nd sess. [1997]: A/52/PV.7: Tom Ikimi (A/52/PV.12: Sam Otuyelu)

51st sess. [1996]: A/51/PV.21: Tom Ikimi

50th sess. [1995]: A/50/PV.18: Tom Ikimi

49th sess. [1994]: A/49/PV.9: Baba Gana Kingibe

48th sess. [1993, 7 Oct.]: A/48/PV.21*: Head of State Ernest Shonekan

47th sess. [1992]: A/47/PV.19: I.O.S. Nwachukwu

46th sess. [1991, 4 Oct.]: A/46/PV.22*: President Ibrahim Babangida

45th sess. [1990]: A/45/PV.13: Vice-President A. Aikhomu

1990, 25 Apr.: A/S-18/PV.5: R. Lukman

44th sess. [1989]: A/44/PV.12: I.O.S. Nwachukwu

43rd sess. [1988]: A/43/PV.10: I.O.S. Nwachukwu

42nd sess. [1987]: A/42/PV.14: Mr. Akinyemi

41st sess. [1986]: A/41/PV.13: Mr. Akinyemi

40th sess. [1985]: A/40/PV.29: Mr. Akinyemi

39th sess. [1984]: A/39/PV.25: Ibrahim Agboola Gambari

38th sess. [1983]: A/38/PV.20: Mr. Bello

37th sess. [1982]: A/37/PV.32: Patrick Bolokor

36th sess. [1981]: A/36/PV.14: Ishaya Audu

35th sess. [1980, 6 Oct.]: A/35/PV.24*: President Alhaji Shehu Usman Aliyu Shagari

34th sess. [1979]: A/34/PV.30: B.A. Clark

33rd sess. [1978]: A/33/PV.23: Henry Edmund Olufemi Adefope

32nd sess. [1977, 13 Oct.]: A/32/PV.32*: President Olusegum Obasanjo

31st sess. [1976]: A/31/PV.16: Joseph Nanven Garba

30th sess. [1975]: A/PV.2378: Joseph Nanven Garba

29th sess. [1974]: A/PV.2255: Okoi Arikpo

28th sess. [1973, 5 Oct.]: A/PV.2141*: Head of State Yakubo Gowon

27th sess. [1972]: A/PV.2048: Okoi Arikpo

26th sess. [1971]: A/PV.1948: Okoi Arikpo

24th sess. [1970]: A/PV.1773: Okoi Arikpo

23th sess. [1969]: A/PV.1692: Okoi Arikpo

22nd sess. [1967]: A/PV.1586: Okoi Arikpo (A/PV.1567: S.O. Adebo)

21st sess. [1966]: A/PV.1423: S.O. Adebo

20th sess. [1965]: A/PV.1348: Nuhu Bamali

19th sess. [1964-1965]: A/PV.1302: Jaja Wachuku

18th sess. [1963]: A/PV.1221: Jaja Wachuku

17th sess. [1962]: A/PV.1153: Jaja Wachuku

16th sess. [1961]: A/PV.1031: Jaja Wachuku

1961, 1 Aug.: Prime Minister Abubakar Tafawa Balewa [visit only]

1960, 6 July: Ahmadu Bello [visit only]

Note: An asterisk [*] indicates a statement made by a Head of State or Government or a dignitary. Symbols in parentheses indicates right of reply. Symbols where no session information is given indicates that the statement was delivered during a High Level Meeting.


Disclaimer: answers are prepared by library staff using resources available at the time of writing. This site may include links and references to third-party databases, websites, books and articles, this does not imply endorsement by the United Nations.


Ask Dag Logo

Explore more than 800 FAQs in: