Where can I find statements made by Canada during the General Debate of the United Nations General Assembly?
Last Updated: Aug 04, 2020     Views: 3634

Representatives of Canada have delivered statements at the following General Debates of the General Assembly:

74th sess. [2019, 30 Sept.]: A/74/PV.13: Marc-André Blanchard

73rd sess. [2018, 1 Oct.]: A/73/PV.16: Marc-André Blanchard

72nd sess. [2017, 21 Sept.]: A/72/PV.12*: Prime Minister Justin Trudeau

71st sess. [2016, 20 Sept.]: A/71/PV.8*: Prime Minister Justin Trudeau

70th sess. [2015, 3 Oct.]: A/70/PV.28: Daniel Jean

69th sess. [2014]: A/69/PV.11: Prime Minister Stephen Harper

68th sess. [2013]: A/68/PV.21: John Baird

67th sess. [2012]: A/67/PV.19: John Baird

66th sess. [2011]: A/66/PV.26: John Baird

65th sess. [2010, 23 Sept.]: A/65/PV.11*: Prime Minister Stephen Harper 

2010, 21 Sept.: A/65/PV.6*: Prime Minister Stephen Harper (High-level Plenary Meeting on the Millennium Development Goals)

64th sess. [2009]: A/64/PV.10: Lawrence Cannon

63rd sess. [2008]: A/63/PV.16: Leonard Edwards

62nd sess. [2007]: A/62/PV.14: Maxime Bernier

61st sess. [2006, 21 Sept.]: A/61/PV.14*: Prime Minister Stephen Harper

60th sess. [2005]: A/60/PV.18: Pierre Stewart Pettigrew

2005, 16 Sept.: A/60/PV.7*: Prime Minister Paul Martin

59th sess. [2004, 22 Sept.]: A/59/PV.5*: Prime Minister Paul Martin

58th sess. [2003, 23 Sept.]: A/58/PV.8*: Prime Minister Jean Chretien

2002, 16 Sept.: A/57/PV.10*: Prime Minister Jean Chretien

57th sess. [2002]: A/57/PV.3: William Graham

56th sess. [2001]: A/56/PV.45: John Manley

55th sess. [2000]: A/55/PV.15: Lloyd Axworthy

2000, 7 Sept.: A/55/PV.6*: Prime Minister Jean Chretien (United Nations Millennium Summit)

2000, 7 Sept.: S/PV.4194*: Prime Minsiter Jean Chretien

54th sess. [1999]: A/54/PV.10: Lloyd Axworthy

53rd sess. [1998]: A/53/PV.15: Lloyd Axworthy

52nd sess. [1997]: A/52/PV.12: Lloyd Axworthy (A/52/PV.20: Michel Duval)

1997, 24 June: A/S-19/PV.3*: Prime Minister Jean Chretien

51st sess. [1996]: A/51/PV.7: Lloyd Axworthy

1995, 22 Oct.: A/50/PV.36*: Prime Minister Jean Chretien (Commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the United Nations)

50th sess. [1995]: A/50/PV.7: Andre Ouellet

49th sess. [1994]: A/49/PV.10: Andre Ouellet

48th sess. [1993, 29 Sept.]: A/48/PV.9*: Prime Minister Kim Campbell

47th sess. [1992]: A/47/PV.10: B. McDougall

46th sess. [1991]: A/46/PV.9: B. McDougall

1990, 1 Oct.: A/45/PV.14* = Brian Mulroney

1990, 24 Apr.: A/S-18/PV.3: M. Landry

1990, 22 Feb.: A/S-17/PV.5: P. Beatty

45th sess. [1990]: A/45/PV.9: J. Clark

44th sess. [1989]: A/44/PV.7: J. Clark

43rd sess. [1988, 29 Sept.]: A/43/PV.11*: Prime Minister Brian Mulroney

42nd sess. [1987]: A/42/PV.7: J. Clark

41st sess. [1986]: A/41/PV.9: J. Clark

1985, 23 Oct.: A/40/PV.47*: Prime Minister Brian Mulroney (Commemoration of the 40th anniversary of the United Nations)

40th sess. [1985]: A/40/PV.9: J. Clark

39th sess. [1984]: A/39/PV.7: J. Clark

38th sess. [1983]: A/38/PV.8: Allan J. MacEachen

37th sess. [1982]: A/37/PV.6: Allan J. MacEachen

1982, 18 June: A/S-12/PV.18*: Prime Minister Pierre Elliot Trudeau

36th sess. [1981]: A/36/PV.6: Mark MacGuigan

35th sess. [1980]: A/35/PV.4: Mark MacGuigan

34th sess. [1979]: A/34/PV.8: Flora Macdonald

33rd sess. [1978]: A/33/PV.9: Donald Jamieson

1978, 26 May: A/S-10/PV.6*: Prime Minister Pierre Elliot Trudeau

32nd sess. [1977]: A/32/PV.6: Donald Jamieson

31st sess. [1976]: A/31/PV.9: Donald Jamieson

30th sess. [1975]: A/PV.2356: Allan J. MacEachen

29th sess. [1974]: A/PV.2242: Allan J. MacEachen

28th sess. [1973]: A/PV.2126: Mitchell Sharp

27th sess. [1972]: A/PV.2044: Mitchell Sharp

26th sess. [1971]: A/PV.1944: Mitchell Sharp

25th sess. [1970]: A/PV.1848: Mitchell Sharp

1969, 11 Nov.: Prime Minister Pierre Elliot Trudeau [visit only]

24th sess. [1969]: A/PV.1769: Mitchell Sharp

23rd sess. [1968]: A/PV.1687: Mitchell Sharp

22nd sess. [1967]: A/PV.1569: Paul Martin

21st sess. [1966]: A/PV.1413: Paul Martin

20th sess. [1965]: A/PV.1335: Paul Martin

19th sess. [1964-1965]: A/PV.1294: Paul Martin

18th sess. [1963, 19 Sept.]: A/PV.1208*: Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson

17th sess. [1962]: A/PV.1130: Howard Green

16th sess. [1961]: A/PV.1022: Howard Green

15th sess. [1960]: A/PV.871*: Prime Minister John Diefenbaker

14th sess. [1959]: A/PV.807: Howard Green

13th sess. [1958]: A/PV.759: Sidney Smith

12th sess. [1957]: A/PV.683: John Diefenbaker

11th sess. [1956]: A/PV.609: Roch Pinard

10th sess. [1955]: A/PV.523: Paul Martin

9th sess. [1954]: A/PV.475: Lester B. Pearson

8th sess. [1953]: A/PV.441: Lester B. Pearson

7th sess. [1952]: A/PV.382: Paul Martin

6th sess. [1951]: A/PV.339: Lester B. Pearson

5th sess. [1950]: A/PV.287: Lester B. Pearson

4th sess. [1949]: A/PV.228: Lester B. Pearson

3rd sess. [1948]: A/PV.146: William Lyon Mackenzie King

2nd sess. [1947]: A/PV.83: Louis Saint-Laurent

1st sess. [1946]: A/PV.41: Louis Saint-Laurent


Note: An asterisk [*] indicates a statement made by a Head of State or Government or a dignitary. Symbols in parentheses indicates right of reply. Symbols where no session information is given indicates that the statement was delivered during a High Level Meeting.


Disclaimer: answers are prepared by library staff using resources available at the time of writing. This site may include links and references to third-party databases, websites, books and articles, this does not imply endorsement by the United Nations.


Ask Dag Logo

Explore more than 800 FAQs in: