Where can I find statements made by Australia during the General Debate of the United Nations General Assembly?
Last Updated: Oct 13, 2022     Views: 3244

FAQs about the General Debate provide comprehensive historic information (1946-2021) and are not updated after the 76th session of the General Assembly. For the latest General Debate statements, see the continually updated research tools linked below.

Representatives of Australia have delivered statements at the following General Debates of the General Assembly:

76th sess. [2021, 24 Sept.]: A/76/PV.13*: Prime Minister Scott Morrison

75th sess. [2020, 25 Sept.]: A/75/PV.11*: Prime Minister Scott Morrison

74th sess. [2019, 25 Sept.]: A/74/PV.5*: Prime Minister Scott Morrison

73rd sess. [2018, 28 Sept.]: A/73/PV.13: Marise Payne

72nd sess. [2017, 22 Sept.]: A/72/PV.16: Julie Bishop

71st sess. [2016, 21 Sept.]: A/71/PV.13*: Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull 

2016, 19 Sept.: A/71/PV.4 A: Malcolm Turnbull (High-level Plenary Meeting on Addressing Large Movements of Refugees and Migrants)

70th sess. [2015, 29 Sept.]: A/70/PV.18: Julie Bishop

69th sess. [2014]: A/69/PV.9: Prime Minister Tony Abbott

68th sess. [2013]: A/68/PV.15: Julie Bishop

67th sess. [2012, 26 Sept.]: A/67/PV.9*: Prime Minister Julia Gillard

2012, 24 Sept.: A/67/PV.5: Richard Marles (High-level Meeting on the Rule of Law at the National and International Levels)

66th sess. [2011, 22 Sept.]: A/66/PV.18: Prime Minister Kevin Rudd

65th sess. [2010]: A/65/PV.16: Kevin Rudd

2010, 22 Sept.: A/65/PV.9: Kevin Rudd (High-level Plenary Meeting on the Millennium Development Goals)

64th sess. [2009, 23 Sept.]: A/64/PV.4*: Prime Minister Kevin Rudd

63rd sess. [2008, 25 Sept.]: A/63/PV.10*: Prime Minister Kevin Rudd

62nd sess. [2007]: A/62/PV.15: Robert Hill (A/62/PV.15: Robert Hill)

61st sess. [2006]: A/61/PV.15: Alexander Downer

60th sess. [2005]: A/60/PV.18: Alexander Downer

2005, 16 Sept.: A/60/PV.7*: Prime Minister John Howard

59th sess. [2004]: A/59/PV.17: John Dauth

58th sess. [2003]: A/58/PV.9: Alexander Downer

57th sess. [2002]: A/57/PV.4: Alexander Downer

2002, 30 Jan.: S/PV.4464*: Prime Minister John Howard

56th sess. [2001]: A/56/PV.57: John Dauth

55th sess. [2000]: A/55/PV.20: Alexander Downer

2000, 6 Sept.: A/55/PV.3*: Prime Minister John Howard

54th sess. [1999]: A/54/PV.16: Alexander Downer (The Millennium Summit of the United Nations)

53rd sess. [1998]: A/53/PV.9: Penny Wensley

52nd sess. [1997]: A/52/PV.23: Alexander Downer

51st sess. [1996]: A/51/PV.15: Alexander Downer

1995, 23 Oct.: A/50/PV.38*: Governor-General Bill Hayden (Commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the United Nations)

50th sess. [1995]: A/50/PV.15: Gareth J. Evans

49th sess. [1994]: A/49/PV.15: Gareth J. Evans

48th sess. [1993]: A/48/PV.5: Gareth J. Evans

47th sess. [1992]: A/47/PV.15: Gareth J. Evans

46th sess. [1991]: A/46/PV.5: Gareth J. Evans

45th sess. [1990]: A/45/PV.17: Gareth J. Evans

44th sess. [1989]: A/44/PV.21: Gareth J. Evans

43rd sess. [1988]: A/43/PV.17: Gareth J. Evans

42nd sess. [1987]: A/42/PV.31: Richard Woolcott

41st sess. [1986]: A/41/PV.19: William George Hayden (A/41/PV.19: William Farmer)

40th sess. [1985]: A/40/PV.17: William George Hayden (A/40/PV.17: William George Hayden)

39th sess. [1984]: A/39/PV.17: William George Hayden

38th sess. [1983]: A/38/PV.17: William George Hayden

37th sess. [1982]: A/37/PV.19: Anthony Austin Street

36th sess. [1981]: A/36/PV.5: Anthony Austin. Street

35th sess. [1980]: A/35/PV.10: Andrew Peacock

34th sess. [1979]: A/34/PV.16: Andrew Peacock

33rd sess. [1978]: A/33/PV.24: Andrew Peacock

1978, 5 June: A/S-10/PV.16*: Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser

32nd sess. [1977]: A/32/PV.11: Andrew Peacock

31st sess. [1976]: A/31/PV.9: Andrew Peacock

30th sess. [1975]: A/PV.2357: Don Willesee

29th sess. [1974, 30 Sept.]: A/PV.2249*: Prime Minister E.G. Whitlam (A/PV.2259: Don Willesee)

28th sess. [1973]: A/PV.2138: Don Willesee

27th sess. [1972]: A/PV.2042: Nigel Bowen

26th sess. [1971]: A/PV.1951: Nigel Bowen

25th sess. [1970]: A/PV.1846: William McMahon

24th sess. [1969]: A/PV.1759: Gordon Freeth

23rd sess. [1968]: A/PV.1687: Paul Hasluck

1968, 31 May: Prime Minister John Grey Gorton [visit only]

22nd sess. [1967]: A/PV.1590: Paul Hasluck

21st sess. [1966]: A/PV.1418: Paul Hasluck

20th sess. [1965]: A/PV.1341: James Plimsoll

19th sess. [1964-1965]: A/PV.1299: Paul Hasluck

18th sess. [1963]: A/PV.1226: Garfield Barwick (A/PV.1227: Garfield Barwick)

17th sess. [1962]: A/PV.1132: Garfield Barwick

1962, 15 June: Prime MinisterRobert Gordon Menzies [visit only]

16th sess. [1961]: A/PV.1035: James Plimsoll

15th sess. [1960]: A/PV.888*: Prime Minister Robert Menzies

14th sess. [1959]: A/PV.814: Richard G. Casey

13th sess. [1958]: A/PV.759: Richard G. Casey

12th sess. [1957]: A/PV.687: Richard G. Casey

11th sess. [1956]: A/PV.588: Richard G. Casey

10th sess. [1955]: A/PV.520: Richard G. Casey

9th sess. [1954]: A/PV.479:  Richard G. Casey

8th sess. [1953]: A/PV.436:  Richard G. Casey

7th sess. [1952]: A/PV.384:  Richard G. Casey

1952, 22 May: Prime Minister Robert Gordon Menzies [visit only]

6th sess. [1951]: A/PV.338:  Richard G. Casey

5th sess. [1950]: A/PV.280: Percy Claude Spender

3rd sess. [1948]: A/PV.146: John Albert Beasley

2nd sess. [1947]: A/PV.83: Herbert Vere Evatt

1st sess. [1946]: A/PV.43: Norman John Oswald Makin


Note: An asterisk [*] indicates a statement made by a Head of State or Government or a dignitary. Symbols in parentheses indicates right of reply. Symbols where no session information is given indicates that the statement was delivered during a High Level Meeting.


Disclaimer: answers are prepared by library staff using resources available at the time of writing. This site may include links and references to third-party databases, websites, books and articles, this does not imply endorsement by the United Nations.


Ask Dag Logo

Explore more than 800 FAQs in: