Who is the current Deputy Secretary-General and who has held the post previously?
Last Updated: Sep 12, 2019     Views: 5904

The position of Deputy Secretary-General was created in 1997 by the General Assembly resolution, A/RES/52/12B. The responsibilities of the post are listed in the resolution.

Ms. Amina J. Mohammed of Nigeria is the current Deputy Secretary-General. She began her term on 1 January 2017.

Previous office holders include:

2012-2016 : Mr. Jan Eliasson (Sweden)

2007-2012 : Ms. Asha-Rose Migiro (Tanzania)

2006 : Mr. Mark Malloch Brown (United Kingdom)

1998-2006 : Ms. Louise Fréchette (Canada)


Disclaimer: answers are prepared by library staff using resources available at the time of writing. This site may include links and references to third-party databases, websites, books and articles, this does not imply endorsement by the United Nations.


Ask Dag Logo

Explore more than 800 FAQs in: