Who has been the Under-Secretary-General for Management Strategy, Policy and Compliance?
Last Updated: Sep 19, 2019     Views: 624

The Department of Management Strategy, Policy and Compliance (DMSPC) was established in 2019 (A/RES/72/266B).

The department was first established as the Department of Administrative and Financial Services. It was discontinued in this form in 1954 (see A/2554). It was re-established as the Department of Administration and Management through the merger of the Office of the Controller and the Office of Personnel in 1968 (see A/C.5/1128) and renamed the Department of Administration, Finance and Management in 1979. The name was changed to the Department of Administration and Management in 1982 before it became the Department of Management (DM) in 1997. In 2019, as part of the reorganization of the Secretariat, the Department of Management Strategy, Policy and Compliance (DMSPC) was established.


2017- : Jan Beagle (New Zealand) (Press release SG/A/1735-BIO/4970 [2017])

2012-2017: Yukio Takasu (Japan) (Press release SG/A/1340 [2012])

2008-2012: Angela Kane (Germany) (Press release SG/A/1135 [2008])

2007-2008: Alicia Barcena Ibarra (Mexico) (Press release SG/A/1038-BIO/3840 [2007])

2005-2006: Christopher Bancroft Burnham (United States of America) (Press release SG/A/923-BIO/3660 [2005])

2003-2005: Catherine Bertini (United States of America) (Press release SG/A/824-BIO/3466 [2002])

1994-2002: Joseph E. Connor (United States of America) (Press release SG/A/583-BIO/2855 [1994], SG/A/824-BIO/3466 [2002])

1993: Melissa Wells (United States of America) (Press release SG/A/534-BIO/2759 [1993], ST/SGB/258)

1992: Dick Thornburgh (United States of America) (ST/SGB/249, Press release SG/A/484 [1992], Press release SG/A/485-BIO/2639 [1992])

1991: J. Richard Foran (Acting) (Canada) (Press release SG/A/464-BIO/2572 [1991])

1990: Martti Ahtisaari (Finland) 

1989: Luis Maria Gomez (Acting) (Argentina) 

1987-1988: Martti Ahtisaari (Finland) (Press release SG/A/365-BIO/2218 [1986])

1982-1986: Patricio Ruedas (Spain) (Press release SG/A/288-BIO/1902 [1982])

1979-1981: Helmut F. Debatin (Federal Republic of Germany) (Press release ST/A/231-BIO/1613 [1979])

1972-1978: George F. Davidson (Canada) (Press release SG/A/122 [1972], Press release BIO/926 [1972])

1971: Horatio Keith Matthews (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) (Press release BIO/810 [1970])

1968-1970: Andrew A. Stark (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)

1954-1967: Department did not exist in this form

1946-1953: Byron Price (United States of America)

Sep 19, 2019     624


Disclaimer: answers are prepared by library staff using resources available at the time of writing. This site may include links and references to third-party databases, websites, books and articles, this does not imply endorsement by the United Nations.


Ask Dag Logo

Explore more than 800 FAQs in: