Who has been Secretary-General of the United Nations?
Last Updated: Jan 11, 2017     Views: 149

The current Secretary-General of the United Nations is António Guterres. He is the ninth Secretary-General. The list of Secretaries-General, with the date of their term in office, is:

 24 October 1945-1 February 1946: Acting Secretary-General, Gladwyn Jebb, United Kingdom

1. Trygve Lie, from Norway, 1946-1952

2. Dag Hammarskjöld, from Sweden, 1953-1961

3. U Thant, from Myanmar, 1961-1971

4. Kurt Waldheim, from Austria, 1972-1981

5. Javier Perez de Cuellar, from Peru, 1982-1991

6. Boutros Boutros-Ghali, from Egypt, 1992-1996

7. Kofi A. Annan, from Ghana, 1997-2006

8. Ban Ki-Moon, from Republic of Korea, 2007-2016

9. António Guterres, from Portugal, 2017-Present

The Research Guide on the Secretariat provides links to more information about the appointments and additional resources held by the Library for each Secretary-General.

Related subjects:
Last Updated: Jan 11, 2017     Views: 149


Disclaimer: answers are prepared by library staff using resources available at the time of writing. This site may include links and references to third-party databases, websites, books and articles, this does not imply endorsement by the United Nations.


Ask Dag Logo

Explore more than 800 FAQs in: