How are the non-permanent members of the Security Council selected?
Last Updated: Apr 26, 2018     Views: 44712

Each year, the General Assembly elects five non-permanent members (out of ten in total) for a two-year term. The ten non-permanent seats are distributed on a regional basis:

  • five for African and Asian countries;
  • one for Eastern European countries;
  • two for Latin American and Caribbean countries;
  • two for Western European and other countries.

Article 23 of the UN Charter concerns the composition of the Security Council.

Rule 142-144 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Assembly concerns the Security Council elections.

Commentaries on the Charter, the Repertoire of Practice of the Security Council, and the Repertory of Practice of the UN Organs, may all provide additional information.


Disclaimer: answers are prepared by library staff using resources available at the time of writing. This site may include links and references to third-party databases, websites, books and articles, this does not imply endorsement by the United Nations.


Ask Dag Logo

Explore more than 800 FAQs in: